top of page

More of my favourite Characters

As I said last post, I'm thanking the fabulous people who wrote my favourite crime, mystery and detective characters. A recap of who they are below,

Adrian McKinty. Crime novels (Irish)

James Lee Burke. Mystery novels

Ken Bruen. Noir Crime fiction

Robert Crais. Detective novels

Michael Connelly. Detective novels, Crime fiction

last post I told you about Adrian McKinty, this next one is about James Lee Burke.

I’m terribly grateful for James Lee Burke, he has given us Dave Robicheaux and his best friend Clete Purcell. These two are a phenomenon, I go to the book shop like a zombie to get these books, (must….. have….. more…. Dave Robicheaux) they’ve compelled me to begin 20 times already. I know you know what I’m talking about, the difficulty of getting out of a nice warm book, that’s just ended, into a brand new one.

There are rules, or maybe that's just me but it can’t be less fantastically written than the last one you were reading. You can’t take a chance on anything untried, if you do you might end up with what I call “finishing shock” and that involves not have anything to read as you are forced to recalibrate. No No No.

Well there is no danger of that with Dave and Clete. These are worthy of banking up behind anything and guaranteed to avert the aforementioned shock. In fact, always make them follow, because you will be hard pressed to find anything to follow them. So why do I love this series?

It's because no two stories are the same, and to me, that’s a kind of magic. It's because I feel as if I could navigate New Iberia, Louisiana, Mr. Burkes descriptions have become so vivid to me.

It’s got damaged people, doing what they have to, and what they don’t have to but are compelled to do through a sense of duty, practicality and decency. Gotta love that.

Don’t get me wrong this isn’t Batman and Robin. There’s all the grit and ego that is men, but they are written with such balance that they don't feel glorified nor depressing. See for yourself, within the pages you’ll find the most expertly crafted stories that take you places you don’t realise you’re going until you arrive, it’s a great way to travel.

So glad to have found these books, there all good, every single one and there's Hackberry Holland yet to indulge in.

Thanks for stopping in, happy reading and writing.

M

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page