top of page

Why I'm a Tomb Raider Tragic.

I’ve been playing Tomb raider since its release in October 1996. …yep 20 years this year. In those days she was a hard to handle blocky lass, not unlike myself. It’s the game that began it all for me. People said in disapproving voices, “It's such a waste of time” and “How long have you been sitting there playing that?” They told me that I should do something more worthwhile, how rude. Now they'd say, aren’t you a bit old for that…no, mind your own business. You’re never too old for things you enjoy.

When there was no Tomb Raider to play, I played Drakes Fortune, Ratchet and Clank, the 007 games and a host of others. Why you ask? Or if you don’t… "Hi there fellow Gamer”. To me games are a form of story, a more energetic type of story. They are stories I can wander around in. That ability to experience stories in a different way appealed to me from the first day. “Who’s that in the back row saying I have no imagination?”

I know they lead me by the nose, but doesn’t every story do that to some extent? I’m a perpetual tourist, I love to go places and look at things. Game graphics have come such a long way. In my virtual worlds, I’ve been to Islands, Jungles, Deserts, Temple Ruins and underwater crypts. I've solved ancient and not so ancient puzzles.

I still read, but I also listen to some books because I like the sound of voices. Hi there Will Patton and Simon Vance, you are my favourite voices.

Whilst games are not for everyone, I find for me, they are a good way to distract yourself, no substances required.

I don’t know about you but as an adult, sometimes I need distracting from my real world issues. Slipping into the virtual world gives me separation. I used to visit my favourite characters while reading a book. I now embark upon virtual adventures with Lara Croft and Nathan Drake. I recommend trying new things no matter how old you are.

Long live storytelling, get yours in whatever form you prefer.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page